9 Valentine Books We Love

Monday, February 1, 2016

If I were stuck on a deserted island and only allowed to celebrate ONE holiday I'd be hard pressed to choose between Valentine's Day and Easter. Because picking a favorite holiday is hard! My affection for Valentine's Day runs long and deep. Add chocolate, homemade cards, and flowers and what you have is one charming holiday, however "made-up" it may be.

In the spirit of all things Valentine these are some of the books we've been reading at our house lately. Maybe next year we'll do a 14 day countdown to Valentine's starting on February 1st. Wouldn't that be fun? Until then here are some pink, white, and red recommendations to get you started.
  1. Ruby Valentine Saves the Day by Laurie Friedman - With a last name like Valentine of course Ruby is hosting a grand celebration for the heart-filled holiday. Together with her parrot, Lovebird, the two plan the perfect valentine party until they wake up to find snow has thwarted their plan. Undaunted, Ruby takes the party to the village and realizes that it isn't the decorations that make a perfect party. (For fun try counting how many hearts are in this book.)
  2. One Zillion Valentines by Frank Modell - This is one of those books that I immediately wanted to add to our personal collection and probably would have loved as a child. Milton and Marvin are on a mission: to make enough valentines for each person in their neighborhood. The illustrations remind me of a classic comic strip and make the story that much more endearing. 
  3. A Crankenstein Valentine by Samantha Berger - Not everyone loves heart shaped sandwiches and lovey-dovey card, especially an elementary school-aged boy. But finding a comrade to commiserate with? Well that might make valentine's day a little more tolerable. 
  4. The Day it Rained Hearts by Felicia Bond - Enterprising Cornelia Augusta knows exactly what to do when unique hearts start pouring out of the sky—make custom valentines for each of her friends of course. The whimsical illustrations in this book are perfect for children of all ages.  
  5. Hug Me by Simona Ciraolo - I admit that I picked up this book for the fact that the cover is covered in cacti. Although it's not exactly a valentine book, the sentiment of finding comfort through friendship (and hugs!) is appropriate for February 14. Follow Felipe as he finds out it's okay to be the touchy-feely sort.
  6. Here Comes Valentine Cat by Deborah Underwood - In the tradition of Easter Cat and Santa Cat, the familiar feline is back and is decidedly NOT excited about Valentine's Day. With a little nudging we find out about Cat's new neighbor, Dog, and how Cat is conspiring against him. In a witty twist, Cat discovers that maybe Dog really just wanted to be friends all along. 
  7. A Village Full of Valentines by James Stevenson - This compilation of seven short stories is not only funny in some of the character conversations, it turns into a heartwarming tale of an entire neighborhood giving to the beloved village tailor. Another one I'd definitely add to our personal collection. 
  8. The Great Valentines Day Balloon Race by Adrienne Adams - Easter rabbit siblings, who need a break from egg decorating, decide to make a balloon to enter the Valentine's Day balloon race, hoping to reach the target heart before the other racers. This picture book is a little wordy, but still cute in its story. 
  9. Zero Kisses for Me by Manuela Monari - When an independent-minded child decides to take a stance against excessive (or any) kissing, he soon finds out that maybe a kiss before bed isn't so bad. While this isn't exactly a valentine book, it still fits nicely into the celebration of love and affection. 
See more children's book recommendations here

0 comments:

Post a Comment

My Bookbloom All rights reserved © Blog Milk Powered by Blogger